I'm a white, southern male that's a prime racist demographic, isn't it? Really, I just don't understand that reasoning. And, quite frankly, it's difficult to have the discussions required for me to develop a functional understanding of white supremacists.
I guess the whole thing comes down to one basic thing. I don't even know what white is supposed to mean. All that stuff about white power, white culture, and the like. Really, I just don't know what they are going on about. Are they talking about the sum of all people of European descent? If so, that's not a thing, or at least not a coherent enough thing to actually be meaningful.
Do they intend to imply pride in one's heritage? Well, I'm primarily of Polish descent and identify with that heavily. That doesn't really put me on good terms with the mythos that they seem to ascribe, Swedes are dicks and Germans historically tried to makes slaves out of any of my people who didn't actively kick their asses. In fact, "slave" is a derivative of the German word which in turn is derived from "Slav". Poles were west slavs, as were Bohemians, and Silesians. Wouldn't that lead me to identify more with groups with a similar history of being abused? Besides, some kind of pan-European thing really pisses me off because it'd hand my Eastern European roots (and the interesting history thereof) the short end of the stick yet again. So, I guess that can't be it.
Do they mean some kind of new cultural identity in America as defined by skin color? Well, this is most likely, but if you don't mind me asking where the hell is it? There is definitely an American culture, and each state has a different flavor thereof, but I really don't see how the dominant culture here in Georgia is exclusively white, or even how this farcical concept of race factors. Growing up people of other ancestries have always acted like me, talked like me, believed in my state and nation like me, and have the American dream like me. I can't, for the life of me, figure out where that dividing line supposed is.
I don't even buy the whole concept of race any more. Now, culture and people exists because it is a combination of genetic predisposition and traditions that create something slightly different. They inform minor differences in average ability and the base assumptions that people take with them when entering a situation. Race, well, doesn't. Race is a collection of hundreds of these different peoples and cultures based on a phenotype. There are few general genetic predispositions and virtually no common cultural practices among a race. It's a useless generalization. Hell, the only reason that black is a thing is because the previous cultural practices were largely stopped out and people were tossed together in such an arbitrary fashion into a larger culture that they had not choice to form their own subculture. White never did, there was no common purpose or separation from cultures of origin, there was no reason to chuck all of it and come up with a generalized identity to provide us with a sense of history.
I have to say that I still just can't buy the racist explanation of things. I just don't see where they are coming from, blank nothingness of an imagined culture is not something I seek to defend. There is no white culture, there is no white race. There is, however, American culture. I'll buy into that just fine, thank you very much.
No comments:
Post a Comment